Turiya and final samadhi, 4th consciousness wonder.

turiya state simulation

Turiya State, an Overview Turiya is the final stage of human consciousness. It encompasses all the three stages which we described in our previous articles. It is mentioned in Mandukya Upanishad with the other three stages being the final destination for the Yogis. However, there is also the mention of another stage or the fifth … Read more

Significance of Dreams, the Swapna Avashta

dream stage

The second stage of human consciousness is the Swapna Avastha or the stage of Dream. The commonly referred word is sleep stage but the Sanskrit word used is Swapna whose literal translation is Dream, but not sleep. In this series of articles, the first one was the Jagrit Avastha or the stage of Wakefulness. It … Read more

Jagrit Avastha of Human Consciousness


As Per the Major Upanishads, there are four stages of human consciousness called Jagrit, Svapna, Sushupti, and Turiya. These conditions are equated with the word ‘OM’ so that when someone encompasses the four stages becomes equivalent with OM i.e. Brahman. What is the first stage called the Jagrit condition in Hindu Philosophy/Psychology? We the beings … Read more

Dance, Nataraja, and Life

Nataraja Shiva

Dance is a form of expression through movement. In, reality, without movement, it is not possible. This includes multiple movements, of the body and expression. When we are dancing, we forget all the pains end sufferings, we only enjoy that moment. Dance is not only giving you immense pleasure and peace but it is illustrating … Read more

Consciousness, Senses and Science, an Indic perspective.

consciousness and vedas

The Chaitanya’s Perplexity. Consciousness is the state of existence of living beings where all are aware of the stuff and happenings. The common Sanskrit translation for the word ‘Consciousness’ is Chaitanya, but is it the correct translation? Let’s try to solve this question and understand what consciousness is all about in Indic perspective. In the … Read more

On Ontology Of Thought And Self: Reflections From J. Krishnamurti. Part-(2)

Jiddu K

Seeing “As It Is”  This is the point we are verily agnizing ourselves, not because someone said it. Such a state can’t be stagnant or concrete; instead, it’s evanescence and see-through one’s self from moment to moment. It doesn’t mean that in such a state, the mind is entirely free from all conditioning, it has … Read more

Pancha Kosha, 5 Insights of great Indian psychology.

spiral koshas, theory of pancha koshas

Overview Pancha Koshas are the five sheaths of the human body that envelopes Atman, the individual soul. The concept of Pancha Kosha is in the Brahmanandavalli section of Taittiriya Upanishad. In Indian Philosophy, the theory of Pancha Kosha holds great significance. It directly mentions the psychological layers that needed to be conquered before reaching the … Read more

On Ontology Of Thought And Self: Reflections From J. Krishnamurti. Part-(1)

Jiddu Krishnamurthi thought

Questioning Thought And Self We all think, most of the time we are thinking about something. The thought is the phenomenon in which we identify ourselves. But, did we ever ask the question “what is thought?” which is right now going on in our mind and has an inextricable relationship with the self and being. … Read more

Samadhi: Attaining the 8th Limb of Yoga.

a person attaining the Samadhi.

Samadhi is the final destination for all Yoga Practitioners. To attain Samadhi is only the final enlightenment of a Yogi or a monk. There is a great similarity between the Nirvana of Buddhism and Hinduism with the Samadhi, Moksha, and Kaivalya. The relation between these giant philosophical words is often misinterpreted. To understand Samadhi and … Read more