9 Amazing Avatars Of Navdurga Maa

9 avatars of Durga (Navdurga) are the 9 forms of goddess signifying the Prakriti or nature. They are Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kusmanda, Skandamata, Katyayini, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri.

Last Updated On Nov 24, 2022 @ 8:12 am

9 (nava) durga images with names given below. The prayer for Navdurga is also given below.

9 Avatars of Durga, Navadurga, With Images

प्रथमं शैलपुत्री च द्वितीयं ब्रह्मचारिणी।

तृतीयं चन्द्रघंटेति कूष्माण्डेति चतुर्थकम् ।।

पंचमं स्क्न्दमातेति षष्ठं कात्यायनीति च ।

सप्तमं कालरात्रीति महागौरीति चाष्टमम् ।।

नवमं सिद्धिदात्री च नवदुर्गाः प्रकीर्तिताः ।।

Prayer for Navadurga
Image 1: 9 Avatars of Durga, Navadurga

Last updated on Nov 24, 2022 @ 8:12 am

One: Shailputri maa (शैलपुत्री)

Shailputri is the daughter of the king of the mountains. The literal translation of the word Shailputri is Daughter of the Mountain. She is the first form of the goddess. Shailputri took birth at the house of the king of mountains. In their previous birth, she was the daughter of Daksha Prajapati. Shailputri is seen riding the bull Nandi. Pure ghee can be offered to this form of goddess.

Click here to read about the 24 Avatars of Vishnu.

Two: Brahmacharini maa. (ब्रह्मचारिणी), a student form in 9 Avatars of Durga.

Brahmacharini maa is the 2nd form of the goddess where she is transformed from being just a daughter to a great student. Brahmacharini holds Rudraksha in one hand and Kamandalu in another hand. In this form, she is seen meditating to please lord shiva. We can offer sugar to this form of Goddess.

Three: Chandraghanta (चन्द्रघंटi)

Chandraghanta Maa is the third avatar of Durga. She has 10 hands and a moon-shaped bell (crescent moon) near her forehead. She rides on a tiger. Chandraghanta is the destroyer of evil and the tiger represents valor. She like Kheer. We can offer her kheer on the third day.

Click here to read about 7 Avatars of Brahma.

Four: Kushmanda (कूष्माण्डi) of the Navadurga

Kushmanda maa is the fourth form of goddess Durga. In this avatar of Durga, she is the creator goddess. The literal meaning of Kushmanda is a small and warm egg. In Hinduism, a cosmic egg is regarded as Hiranyagarbha or the golden womb which is the creative principle of the Universe. We can offer anything the sacred fire to please the goddess. We can also offer malpua to her.

Five: Skandmata (स्क्न्दमातi), the mother is the 9 avatars of Durga. (Navadurga)

Skandmata is the fifth in the 9 avatars of Durga maa. She is the four-armed form of the goddess Durga. She carries a lotus in two hands and kamandalu and bell in the other two hands. She carries Skanda ( Little Kartikeya also known as Murugan ) in her lap. Skandamata is seated on the lotus. We can offer Bananas to the Goddess Skandamata. She is a form of Navdurga for creation.

Six: Katyayani (कात्यायनी)

Katyayani is the sixth in the 9 forms of Durga (Navdurga). She represents power. Katyayani is the warrior goddess. She is seen carrying a sword. Katyayani has four arms. Katyayani is the slayer of the demon Mahisasura. She is seen riding a lion which represents power with patience and stability. We can offer honey to pray to her.

Click here to read about the 19 Avatars of Shiva.

Seven: Kaalratri (कालरात्री) in the Navadurga, the 9 Avatars of Durga

Kaalratri is the 7th form of Durga. She is black in color. Kalratri sacrificed her skin color to slay the demons. The literal translation of Kaalratri is the night of the time. She has the third eye on her forehead, it represents the complete removal of Kama and full enlightenment. She can be offered Jaggery during her worship.

Eight: Mahagauri (महागौरी)

Mahagauri is the extreme form of a goddess bearing full radiance. She is seen riding a bull or sometimes a white elephant. Mahagauri holds the Trident (Trishul) and Damaru (Indian Yoyo) in her hands. She can be offered coconut. Mahagauri is the 8th in the 9 Avatars of Durga, Navadurga

Nine: Siddhidatri (सिद्धिदात्री), the giver of perfections in Navadurga (9 Avatars of Durga)

Siddhidatri is the 9th Avatar of Durga. The literal translation of her name is the giver of the perfections. In this final form, she has four arms. Siddhidatri is seen sitting on a lotus. She has a mace, chakra, book, and Padma (lotus). She likes Sesame Seeds. We can offer Sesame Seeds to her on the 9th Day of Navaratri.

Image 3: Lotus for the 9 Avatars of Durga, Navdurga

Read about adityas from here.

Leave a Comment