Shiva’s Biggest Enemy and 5 Forms of Lord

The most beloved lord, Shiva is the best example of humbleness, purity, and love. He is the space and time himself. The depiction of Shiva is in various scriptures, mostly the Puranas. The necklace of the serpent king Vasuki with the crown of the moon. Wearing the skin of Tiger, holding Trident in hands, and holding river Ganga in matted hair.

This makes him the perfect representation of courage also. The Pancha Brahma Upanishad praises him greatly as Pancha Brahma (Five Brahman). He has five forms namely Sadhyojata, Aghora, Vamadeva, Tatpurusha, and Ishana. Each one represents his distinct identity.

One of the Pancha Brahman’s forms of Shiva Aghora is responsible for destroying the biggest enemy of lord Shiva. Let’s know first who was the biggest enemy of lord Shiva.

Last Updated On Apr 24, 2023 @ 4:31 am

Table of Contents

Who is the biggest enemy of lord Shiva?

Jalandhara is considered to be the biggest enemy of lord Shiva. Here is his full story. Once, Lord Indra, the king of the Devas, was feeling insecure as people no longer looked up to him as the main god. He thought of proving to the world that he was better than Lord Shiva. Indra went to Kailash to meet Lord Shiva, but he did not realize that Lord Shiva had transformed himself to look like his gana and was standing outside his door as a doorman. The doorman challenged Indra to fight him to show his powers before he could meet Lord Shiva.

Indra accepted the challenge, and the two fought. After being pushed back by the doorman with a great deal of force, Indra realized that the doorman was none other than Lord Shiva himself. He fell at his feet and asked for forgiveness. Lord Shiva forgave him, but his anger personified and transformed into a young baby, Jalandhara. Lord Brahma found Jalandhara and named him so as he made him feel the water in his eyes with his strength.

As Jalandhara grew up, he became proud of his strength and wanted to become the leader of the Asuras. The gods hoped to use Jalandhara’s strength, but he refused to join them. Instead, he joined the Asuras and married Vrinda, who was the daughter of the Asura king, and the two became the king and queen of the Asuras. Jalandhara proved to be an able and powerful leader, and the Asuras became a formidable force under his command.

When Lord Shiva saw Jalandhara’s growing power, he knew that he had to put an end to it. Lord Shiva sent Veerabhadra, a powerful warrior, to kill Jalandhara. Veerabhadra fought and killed Jalandhara in a fierce battle. Vrinda, Jalandhara’s wife, was devastated by her husband’s death and cursed Lord Vishnu, who had been involved in the plan to kill Jalandhara which is a different story. The curse meant that Lord Vishnu would turn into a stone, and his wife, Lakshmi, would be separated from him.

Here Veerbadhra is created from the Aghora form of lord Shiva. Know about philosophical secrets below. Before that let’s know about the other biggest enemies of lord Shiva.

Other Biggest Enemies of Lord Shiva.

While Jalandhara remains the most infamous enemy of Lord Shiva, the mighty deity has faced other significant foes throughout history:

  1. Tripurasura: Tripurasura was a trio of demon brothers who terrorized the universe with their invincible cities, known as Tripura. Lord Shiva engaged in an intense battle with them and ultimately destroyed their cities using a divine arrow, ending their reign of terror.
  2. Gajasura: Gajasura was a demon with the appearance of an elephant, who had the power to assume any form he desired. After years of penance, he gained a boon from Lord Shiva that allowed him to wreak havoc across the universe. Eventually, Shiva confronted Gajasura, slaying him and liberating the world from his tyranny.
  3. Andhakasura: Andhakasura was born from a drop of Shiva’s sweat and grew up to become a powerful demon king. Blinded by his ego, Andhakasura sought to conquer the universe and even attempted to abduct Parvati. Lord Shiva, along with his divine consort, ultimately vanquished Andhakasura, restoring order to the cosmos.

Pancha Brahman Philosophy and Its Mystery.

Sadhyojata, the first aspect is the lord of the Sadhyas or the Bhakti Seekers. This form makes seekers get rid of their desires by fulfillment. In Yoga, multiple Desires are the greatest enemy of the final spiritual awakening. A single desire is a need that has to be the biggest of them all. It is to become one with the whole process within the Universe or to become one with Brahman. However, it is done while keeping in mind the Dharma assigned by Nature.

Dharma is the duty of an individual while considering the laws of society and nature. In society, the Dharma of students is to read. The Dharma of the household person is to make his family satisfied, and so on. For every object within society or nature, people have to follow the Dharma. This is only the solution to maintain all other desires as Dharma and to keep a single desire as desire itself. Sadhyojata is the maintenance of Earthly beings thus the element Earth or the Dharma himself.

The second aspect of Shiva is Aghora, he is the lord of the people having Ego. When the ego becomes high, only the other higher ego can destroy that ego. This ego is the element of water that always flows down through various places but ultimately becomes one with the Sea. The Ocean is a higher ego and the river is the smaller ego. If a river would be human, it would think ‘I am only the one here” without knowing the vastness of the ocean. The ego takes people down but when the right time comes it becomes one with the ocean too. However, the form of Aghora suggests, the method of ‘Tantra’ or physicality is the requirement in order to control it. Jalandhara is always related to the water and hence aghora form of Shiva only can give him Moksha.

The third aspect is that of Vamadeva, he completes the person and makes him satisfied from within. Vamadeva means lord of the left side. The heart is always on the left; the heart is the center of the consciousness of the self. The collective central consciousness is named ‘Angusta Purusha’ or the consciousness in the shape of a thumb that lives inside the heart. It expands and it contracts. It is big in one second and it is small in another second. When it expands it becomes ‘Annal Stambha’, or the pillar of fire which has no beginning and end (See the previous article to read more about Agni).

Angustha Purusha is the individual soul. Everything we do is within us. However, it is not enough. This converts to ‘Tat Purusha’, or the other forms of consciousness. The person starts feeling, there is a difference between Angustha Purusha and Tat Purusha, ‘he is Shiva and this is me’ kind of feeling, but Tat Purusha himself solves this. He makes people realize that there is no difference between himself and self in us or there is no difference between Brahman and Atman. Tat Purusha is represented by Air because it moves freely but there is no understanding of the wall or the mountains, that deflect them.

The final form of Shiva is, Ishana. It is the collective aspect of all the consciousness within ourselves. It is everything and nothing both. It is bigger than the biggest but smaller than the smallest at the same time. It gives life to the people yet it is the death. It is found in atoms but this itself is the multiverse.

Leave a Comment